Map South Pacific


Micronesia Map 
   home     the Pacific     engravings     maps & guides  

Micronesia map

Micronesia Map

Micronesia is a vast region stretching from Hawaii to the Philippines.

Continental Air Micronesia links five of the seven countries and territories shown on our map of Micronesia: the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands, and the Republic of Palau.

All four states of the Federated States of Micronesia - Kosrae, Pohnpei, Chuuk, and Yap - are on the Continental Micronesia "Island Hopper" routings. Resorts and hotels exist on all the islands, making a Micronesian vacation quite practical.

The history of Micronesia begins 3,000 years ago when the first canoes traveled to the islands from South East Asia. Much later the culture of Micronesia was influenced by Spain, Germany, Japan, and the United States.

The Federated States of Micronesia grew out of the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands created after World War Two.

The Marshall Islands and Palau seceded from the Trust Territory to form countries of their own, while the Northern Marianas joined the United States.

Kiribati and Nauru formerly had ties to Australia or Britain. It's a fascinating area, worthy of your attention.


featured book
Micronesia and Palau
and Palau

Copyright © 2003-2015   ~   web design M.E. de Vos   ~   Privacy Policy

the reproduction of this material on other websites is strictly prohibited